Apocalyptic Fixation

 

Most adherents to apocalyptic faiths have a different reaction to rising crime, poverty, and disease. As these things increase in frequency, such ones rejoice. How can they rejoice, you might ask. Because such things were prophesied as the sign of Christ’s coming and/or presence:

“Nation will rise against nation, and kingdom against kingdom; 
 and there will be great earthquakes, and in one place after 
another pestilences and food shortages; and there will be fearful 
sights and from heaven great signs." (Luke 21:10, 11)
But as these things start to occur, raise yourselves erect and 
lift YOUR heads up, because YOUR deliverance is getting near.” 
(Luke 21:28)

Such ones are so eager for the destruction of this earth (and 99% of life upon it), that they practice confirmation bias. They see only what they want to see and hear only what confirms their bias. All else is dismissed, and in many cases, not even heard. Yes, I have seen it:

ME: “Did you hear that? They said crime is down.”

CONFIRMATION BIAS: “No, they didn’t. Didn’t you hear of that shooting in a nearby town?”

You see? Such ones will always hear what validates their deeply held biases and ignore everything else. It reminds me of a conversation I had with an old friend when I decided to stop serving as one of Jehovah’s Witnesses. She looked straight at me and said, “But, the end is so close. You can see how bad things are getting. It’s everywhere. How can you want to leave now?” I remember just looking at her sadly. All I wanted to say was, “The world isn’t as bad as you think. There are good people and great things being done every day. Stop looking for the bad and you will see the good.” Did I say that? No. I remember being in her shoes and no matter what anyone said to me if it did not fit within my carefully constructed network of beliefs I didn’t hear it.

So what is the point of this blog? To show you that things aren’t getting worse, but are, in some cases, actually getting better. Check out these charts and graphs on the numbers of earthquakes over the last 40 years. Does it look like they’ve been increasing?

http://www.johnstonsarchive.net/other/quake1.html

And this recent article in Time magazine about the drop in crime over the last 20 years:

http://www.time.com/time/magazine/article/0,9171,1963761,00.html

So, will these documented articles matter to doomsdayers? Not likely, because of this scripture:

For YOU know this first, that in the last days there will come 
ridiculers with their ridicule, proceeding according to their 
own desires and saying: “Where is this promised presence of his? 
Why, from the day our forefathers fell asleep [in death], 
all things are continuing exactly as from creation’s beginning.”
(2 Peter 3:3, 4)

It’s a funny thing with confirmation bias for no matter what contradictory information comes their way, it gets explained away. Therefore, even science and documented evidence cannot break the crusty exterior of their faith. Why? Because many of these people have spent their lives hearing about a promised new world in which all the griefs of this life will be removed. Many have never invested in retirement or anything else, they have no health insurance and their health is declining because they never took care of themselves like they should have. “Why bother? Everything’s going to be fixed in about six months.” Armageddon was always six months to two years away. For such ones to finally admit they have been living their lives waiting for a mythological utopia would be shattering.

What can we do? Not look for the bad. See the good and contribute to it. Be a good neighbor and a conscientious citizen. Rejoice! Maybe mankind is actually evolving to a better plane.


		
The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lunaticfaith.wordpress.com/2011/10/30/apocalyptic-fixation/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Confirmation bias is the unshakable foundation of almost all belief systems. It’s very hard to weed out your own particular biases and evaluate the facts objectively. Most people won’t bother to do the work, sadly.

  2. Nice to hear from ya Ty! I’ve been missing you guys:) It’s like my philosophy teacher once said, “I think women are awful drivers and I see evidence of it every day. On the days I see men driving like nuts I always assume they have a logical explanation for it.” Nobody likes to be wrong so we look for reasons to prove we are right.

  3. And investment is a powerful motivator. The more you invest in an idea, the harder it is to give up. This is why forcing people to do things they hate is an excellent way to lock them into your belief system. Cults have been using this tactic forever.

    “But, if my beliefs are wrong, then why would I allow myself to be starved, and why would I have let the cult leader have three kids with my wife?”

  4. Nice to hear from ya Ty!

    I still read the blog. I just often have no comment. 🙂

  5. You don’t have a comment? Awe come on. I know you have an opinion about the pagan stuff you’re just being polite–which is surprisingly out of character for you. Are you mellowing in your old age;)

    • I am always polite to the people I like.

      Also, I am fascinated by personal journeys, even when they don’t wind up going the same way I did. Keep blogging about yours. I’m enjoying reading it.

      • Thank you. I will;) I hear Dan is coming for a visit. Have lots of fun!!


Leave a Reply

