What My Pentagram Means To Me

IMG_4477

When I first started wearing a pentagram I was brand new to Paganism. I was trained by someone who had a plethora of medallions, goddesses, and pentagrams hanging around his neck at any given moment. I had never worn anything to represent my faith. Not even a cross. My branch of Christianity didn’t believe in the cross. So the idea of wearing something ornamental that would identify me with my faith was foreign and a little exciting. I’m not very ornamental myself. I don’t like to give a lot of thought to jewelry and accessories. I don’t wear rings, my earrings are permanent, and if I put a necklace around my neck it will be there until it falls off.

So I bought my first pentagram and wore it constantly. In fact, I was wearing it when the elders from my former faith paid a visit and decided to disfellowship me for apostasy. That particular pentagram went missing soon after that. I had worn it over a year, yet soon after the visit from the elders it disappeared like it had absorbed all the negative energy it could and needed to take it away.

I bought my second pentagram at a Celtic festival in Philadelphia. I spent a bit more on this one. It is sterling silver and cost me $60 for the medallion alone. It is beautiful and I take very good care of it.

I don’t identify myself as Wiccan and don’t practice as a Pagan. I still hold to many of the beliefs, like reincarnation and the personal empowerment that comes with controlling one’s own destiny through ritual. I still value the connection I have gained to the natural world and try to make choices that are sustainable and environmentally aware. I love the moon in all its phases and still find my greatest spirituality under its silvery beams.

Yet none of that represents what my pentagram means to me. I still wear it prominently. I never take it off and never tuck it under my shirt. I had an employer tuck it under the collar of my uniform once so I wouldn’t offend her clientele. She only did that once.

My pentagram doesn’t consciously represent my connection to the 5 elements (earth, air, fire, water, spirit). It doesn’t represent my association with a particular deity or doctrine. What it does do is act as my shield. I can’t tell you how many people have started out treating me with kindness and consideration until their gaze falls upon my chest and they visibly draw away from me. I haven’t changed. I’m the same polite woman they were animatedly conversing with just moments before. The only thing that has changed is their fear and ignorance has now taken over. Rather than investigating for themselves what the pentagram means, they choose to believe I am fornicating with the devil. My pentagram protects me from such people.

I spent my life under the tyranny of such fear mongering. I forced myself to engage with and form relationships with people who were so ignorant and filled with fear that they couldn’t think for themselves. I don’t want those people around me any more.

Occasionally, when asked why I wear a pentagram I tell people it is to piss of the Christians. That is only partially true. It keeps ignorance away from me. It prevents all Christian faiths from trying to indoctrinate me. Most people don’t mess with me when I am wearing it. It represents my hard-won freedom and its appearance keeps me free. It shields me from judgment since those who spew judgment usually won’t come within a country mile of me.

Before anyone points out that it sounds like a lonely life let me just say that a surprising number of people are not repelled by the pentagram. The vast majority of people won’t treat me any different because they realize it is not the necklace but me that truly matters. They either ignore it or openly ask me what it means. Those who are open and receptive get the “5 Elements” answer. Those who I want to antagonize get the “It’s meant to piss of the Christians” answer.

Tonight I was lying in bed contemplating whether to turn off the light or read. I reached toward my neck, as I habitually do, and noticed the chain wasn’t there. I had taken it off earlier in the day while doing yoga. I recently put the pentagram on a longer chain and it gets in my way during some of the yoga poses. As I lay there, I asked myself how I would respond if someone, a friend, sincerely asked me to remove it to avoid offending someone. When my initial response was anger, I had to ask myself why it meant so much to me. I realized it had come to stand for everything I had lost and gained and the need to maintain the barrier between the two. It is my shield against ignorance and judgment and I believe it protects me in more ways than I am consciously aware of. It also helps identify me as a member of an exclusive group who search for better things through personal growth and empowerment. I have had the privilege of meeting some very kind people who recognize my pentagram and approach me. The simple observation, “I like your necklace,” is usually enough to recognize a kindred spirit.

I am a middle-aged woman with no tattoos or facial piercings. I wear normal clothes and drink too much beer and coffee. There is little to identify me as the member of a fringe group but my pentagram. I wasn’t allowed a Goth stage when I was a kid and the only thing that keeps me from exploring it now is the knowledge that I would look completely ridiculous shopping at Hot Topic. So I wear my pentagram and I have become rather attached to it as the symbol of my freedom from the narrow road. Don’t ever ask me to take it off. Don’t ask me to hide it beneath my clothing. Such a request will be viewed as an assault against my freedom and all I have had to sacrifice in gaining said freedom.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lunaticfaith.wordpress.com/2015/05/04/what-my-pentagram-means-to-me/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Always wanted to know that symbolizes. I think that we as people need more diversity expressed in our spiritualities, and that regardless of what ever path we choose to walk, we should be respected for choosing that path.

    Thanks for read.

  2. I grew up a JW as well. I now wear a cross and a very cool silver ring encicled by a chain. The cross represents the benevolent mind of the universe and our Creator’s selfless love. The ring represents our eternal seself and the chain does not imprisoned n anything- only we can allow our selves to be. I have fellow ex JWs and Wicca was one religion or beleuf I looked down on, probably due to wicxans I had crossed paths with, but my freind explained some of the philosiphy and helped me, because i only judge by results- im not going to an out of shape 300 lb dietition- ya know! Im sorry I ever judged , yet again , people by their spiritual belief or path. The Great Father and The Holy Spirit( which i beleive is akin to the Creators female aspect) came to me after I threw out my JW bible and prayed to “Anyone out there’ that I. Was done w one caveat- If I got it i t all wrong show me what Im missing but you f r the God I grew up with DONT BOTHER! That night i had a vision or traveled back to 3 yo ehere I was in terror of my father. He was abusive- my stly mentally, terrorising me frequently well instead of running into him- i met my guardian angel? Higher self? Jesus? Whatever it t was a feeling of such love joy and zero feaxr it was captivating! LSS A day later Im reading the Tao te Ching and it changed my paradigmn on EVERYTHING even the bible- because the Tao speaks VERY close to Christ, but i was approsching! t as “pa an” pagan r something but tword the end i t nnaly tit red out why it was so familliar- because the words were the same as Christ many times but was reading from a different perspective and a book i hated was ipened to me- but many Christians just can’t accept that God uses something not “biblical” by t thats our Source! Iits about ut US and showing us how to be selfless tword all mankind no judgementand living in grattitude and firgiveness and can use anything on this planet to shine a light on your ur path! Blessings!

    • Thanks for sharing your story, Kyle. I’m currently feeling drawn to Hindu belief structures. I’m not a joiner anymore, but I feel drawn to Krishna and I’m reading the bhagavad gita.Good luck on your journey!


Leave a comment